I Return to Color

The greys and dismal suffocating black

have been constant on me as moldy blankets

It’s been on the outside of my eye

the lens a glassy hard barrier to color

I’ve let it keep its distance

while I chalked my outline in coal

But under the island’s autumnal sun

tones that vary powder my skin

A faint blue or rose or slickened green remain

the start of a welcome stain

 

The greens started it

Calling my name from high above

and whispering too under foot

And the yellow dazzling rose

a blossom so pert and aromatic…

Crimson and purple leapt out of Japanese broadsheets

and then giggled from hanging nests as we sauntered by

Orange smeared my sleeve with her saucy slobber

until I looked in the mirror       and saw myself ablaze

 

9.12.16

About Rebecca Reynolds

Leadership Guru; Systems Thinker; Complex Problem Solver; Facilitative Leader...also LOVE life, dog Wiley, good food, Malbec, forests, oceans, yoga stillness, the boxing bag, ballroom dance, and movies.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

